New Zealand Local Time

There are two time zones in New Zealand. The two main islands of the country use NZST (New Zealand Standard lime). twelve hours ahead of UTC (Coordinated Universal lime). while the further away Chatham Islands employ CHAST (Chatham Standard Time). twelve hours and forty five minutes ahead of UTC.

Daylight saving time is observed during summer and clocks are moved ahead by one hour. NZDT (New Zealand Daylight lime) is therefore thirteen hours earlier than UTC, and CHADT (Chatham Daylight Time) is ahead thirteen hours and forty five minutes.

NZST or NZDT is maintained in the Ross Dependency in Antarctica together with the Amundsen-Scott South Pole Station and McMurdo Station.

What’s more. there are New Zealand dependencies in the Pacific Ocean. in 2 time zones that are different on the opposite side of the IDT (International Date Line).

Tokelau and the Cook Islands are in the time zone of UTC less 10 hours and observe no DST. The time in these areas are therefore behind New Zealand by 22 to 23 hours.

This boils down to the time in New Zealand less one day with an additional 1 to 2 hours.
The time zone in Niue is UTC less 11 hours.
In 1868 on the 2nd of November, New Zealand formally adopted a local time to be followed nationwide. and was possibly the first nation to do so.

It was founded on East of Greenwich with a longitude of 172 degrees and 30 feet, eleven and a half hours ahead of GMT (Greenwich Mean Time). This criterion was known as the NZMT (New Zealand Mean Time). During World War II in 1941. clocks were half an hour advanced. which made New Zealand GMT plus 12 hours.

This alteration was made lasting from 1946 by the 1945 Standard Time Act, at which 180°E meridian’s time was used the basis for the time in New Zealand. NZST continued to be NZMT plus half an hour. and the Chatham Islands NZST plus forty five minutes.

In the latter part of 1940s, the atomic clock was formulated and many laboratories started atomic time measurements. A new time measured called the UTC (Coordinated Universal Time) was employed in 1972 globally. This was founded on the interpretations of atomic clocks, modified sporadically in conformity with time versions in the rotation of the earth by the deletion or addition of seconds also known as leap seconds. The 1974 Time Act fixes the NZST (New Zealand Standard lime) as UTC plus 12 hours. Beginning in 2007, the observance in New Zealand of daylight saving is from September’s last Sunday until April’s first Sunday.


The 1974 Time Act authorized the Governor-General to announce by Order in Council a phase when to observe Daylight Time. This was a shift of 1-hour above the earlier shift of half an hour from November’s first Sunday to February’s last Sunday, readily altered the following year by the 1975 New Zealand Time Order which determined the observance period from October’s last Sunday to March’s first Sunday.