Welcome to New Zealand






New Zealand Time


New Zealand Time

New Zealand Time

In New Zealand there are 2 time zones. The two main islands in New Zealand use NZST or New Zealand Standard Time which is 12 hours ahead of UTC or Coordinated Universal Time, while the far-flung Chatham Islands employ CHAST or Chatham Standard Time which is 45 minutes ahead of the NZST. In summer DST or daylight saving time is followed and all clocks are advanced by an hour. NZDT or New Zealand Daylight Time is therefore 13 hours in advance of UTC, and CHADT or Chatham Daylight Time is 45 minutes in advance of NZDT.


In Antarctica, the Ross Dependency observes NZDT/NZST, together with the Amundsen-Scott South Pole Station and the McMurdo Station.

Moreover, there are New Zealand dependencies in the Pacific Ocean which are located in 2 different time zones because some of them are located on the other side of the International Date Line.

In November 2, 1868, New Zealand formally assumed a standard time to be maintained nationally, and was probably the first nation to do so. This standard was famous as the NZMT or New Zealand Mean Time.


During WWII in 1941, clocks were ahead by 30 minutes, making New Zealand twelve hours in advance of GMT.


This modification was made undeviating by the 1945 Standard Time Act from 1946, during which point the meridian of 180E was made the foundation for the tie in New Zealand. New Zealand Standard Time stayed 30 minutes ahead of NZMT, and 45 minutes ahead in the Chatham Islands.

In the latter part of the 1940s the development of the atomic clock led to many laboratories to make use of atomic time scales.


The UTC or Coordinated Universal Time was a new time scale which by 1972 was adopted globally.


This was founded on the indications of atomic clocks, periodically updated following the time fluctuations in the rotation of the earth by the deletion or addition of seconds also known as leap seconds.

The 1974 Time Act defines the NZST or New Zealand Standard Time as twelve hours ahead of UTC.

By 2007, DST in New Zealand is followed from September’s last Sunday until April’s first Sunday.
Beginning in 1909, the Honorable Sir Thomas Kay Sidey declared a Bill each year to wind the clocks ahead by one hour starting September up to March the next year and the 1927 Summer Time Act won: November’s first Sunday to March’s first Sunday. This turned out to be so unpopular that the 1928 Summer Time Act changed this to a 30 minute shift from October 14, 1928 to March 17, 1929.


Afterwards, the 1929 Summer Time Act fixed this 30 minute shift to run from October’s second Sunday to March’s third Sunday.

Time in New Zealand

It was in 1933 that the period was lengthened from September’s first Sunday to April’s last Sunday. This went on until World War II, when emergency rules in 1941 lengthened daylight saving to extend throughout the year with yearly reapplications until the 1945 Standard Time Act which made the desertion of NZMT lasting in 1946, which resulted in 180 to become the longitude base. This was then NZST or New Zealand Summer Time which was later changed to New Zealand Standard Time.



Copyrights for all pictures on this site, it is and remains the property of www.new-zealand-nz.net

   2006 - 2012 www.new-zealand-nz.net