Welcome to New Zealand






New Zealand Navy


New Zealand Navy

New Zealand Navy

The RNZN (Royal New Zealand Navy) which in Maori is Te Taua Moana o Aotearoa or "The Sea Army of New Zealand” is the New Zealand Defense Force’s maritime division. The fleet was made up of 10 ships in April 2006 with the battle force comprising of 2 war vessels. The Royal New Zealand Navy is presently in a transitional phase where its function is being extended into a navy that is more flexible than in the most recent times. Once combat-focused and founded on the warship, a new fleet of ships are soon to be integrated into the fleet that will render the Royal New Zealand Navy a much broader program from which to work.


These ships which are "Project Protectors" are presently under construction with only the MRV (Multi-Role Vessel) in use at this point.

Currently, the combat force of the navy consists of two ANZAC Class warships called the HMNZS Te Mana and the HMNZS Te Kaha. Both frigates are anchored at the North Shore of Auckland’s Devonport Naval Base. Te Kaha was accredited on July 26, 1997 and Te Mana on December 10, 1999. The armaments and specifications of the two ships are exactly the same.

The fleet tanker is the HMNZS Endeavour. She supplies the fuel and other necessities for the warships when they are on global missions, and for allied vessels should it be necessary.


Endeavour got its name from the ship of the Royal Navy that took Captain James Cook to New Zealand the first time he traveled there in 1769.

Her base port is New Plymouth City. HMNZS Canterbury is the Royal New Zealand Navy's new Multi-Role Vessel which came into service in June 2007. HMNZS Resolution is the hydrographic survey ship of the Royal New Zealand Navy.


Resolution is employed to chart and survey the waters surrounding New Zealand and the islands of the Pacific.


She used to be the USNS (United States Navy) Tenacious, employed to tow sonar arrays in order to discover submarines of enemies. Adventure, a small motor boat, is controlled from Resolution. Her base port is Gisborne City. Resolution is equipped with some of the state-of-the-art available survey technology.


The capability of Dive Support is given by HMNZS Manawanui. Manawanui is furnished for the employ of the ODT (Operational Dive Team), which is groomed for diving in the deep sea, demolition underwater, and the disposal of explosives. Manawanui is an extremely specialized Dive Support Vessel.

The Royal New Zealand Navy has one patrol boat of Moa class, the HMNZS Kahu, which is commissioned for Training and Mine counter defense. In 2007, some 4 crafts were decommissioned.

The Royal New Zealand Navy has in operation 5 Kaman SH-2G Seasprite helicopters for employ on the two warships, and for future employ on the new vessel which is multi-role and 2 offshore patrol ships that will be integrated into the fleet from 2007 to 2008.

New Zealand Navy Flag

These 5 aircraft are included in the No. 6 Squadron of the Royal New Zealand Navy Air Force. Auckland’s Whenuapai Air Base is the base of the squadron, and helicopters are designated to the ships as they are deployed all over the world.



Copyrights for all pictures on this site, it is and remains the property of www.new-zealand-nz.net

   2006 - 2012 www.new-zealand-nz.net