Welcome to New Zealand






New Zealand Government


New Zealand Government

New Zealand is a country with a constitutional monarchy and a parliamentary form of government. After the establishment of British sovereignty in 1840 in New Zealand, the 1st government system was created in the 1852 Constitution Act. This included provincial councils and a 2-chamber legislature.
Subsequently, additional legislation modified several of its mandates, such as the termination of the upper house of the legislature in 1950. Same as the United Kingdom, New Zealand does not possess a single penned constitution. Instead, legislation of the constitution is a collection of customary and statutory laws.


The laws which are miscellaneous are rendered consistency through tradition, precedent, and unwritten rules which are formal recognized as conventions.

New Zealand acknowledges the British sovereign as its ruler, or official head of state. The Governor General represents the monarch in New Zealand. The monarch appoints the official on the recommendation of the prime minister to a term of 5 years. Subsequent to national elections, the Governor General has the task to appoint the majority party’s leader in the legislature to the position of prime minister and tasks the prime minister to formulate a cabinet of ministers or government.

On the recommendation of the prime minister, the Governor General officially appoints the cabinet ministers.

The Governor General must also agree to bills of parliamentary for them to become law. All these responsibilities are merely ceremonial, and the Governor General has little actual influence in New Zealand.

The cabinet, the government’s highest policy-making organization, is headed by the prime minister.


The responsibility of the cabinet is the administration of the state on a day-to-day basis, and ministers are responsible for specific parts of policy. Ministers also assemble in the Executive Council, an organization which advises the Governor General.


Constitutional convention obliges the Governor General to follow recommendations of the council.


The Parliament or Legislature is made up of one chamber, the lower house (House of Representatives). Parliament is entrusted with the ability to create laws. The House of Representatives is made up of one hundred twenty members who had been nominated since 1996 in accordance with what is called the MMP (mixed-member proportional) system.

In the MMP system, voting districts elect half of the members (together with the 6 seats reserved for representatives of the Maori) and the other half are nominated from party lists rooted on a share of the party of the vote in nationwide elections. Elections for Legislative positions are held at least once every 3 years. Although registration of voters is mandatory in New Zealand, voting is voluntary. Electors who are registered, or persons who’s name appears on the electoral roll, should be at least 18 years old, citizens or permanent residents who have lived in New Zealand for at least a year, and inhabitants of the voting district at which they have enrolled for at least a month.

Government New Zealand

The New Zealand Governor General appoints all judges in the country, a tradition meant to supplant politics. The judicial system involves district courts, a Court of Appeal, a High Court, and a Supreme Court. This court system supplanted the Privy Council which was London-based as the highest judicial body of New Zealand in 2004.



Copyrights for all pictures on this site, it is and remains the property of www.new-zealand-nz.net

   2006 - 2012 www.new-zealand-nz.net