Welcome to New Zealand






New Zealand Daylight Saving


New Zealand Daylight Saving

New Zealand Daylight Saving

DST (Daylight Saving Time) in New Zealand will was terminated on April 5, 2009. The clocks were moved back by an hour from 3:00 a.m. to 2:00 a.m. local time as soon as the schedule ended. Some regions in Australia also terminated their own daylight saving schedule from 2008 to 2009 on the same date.
The main islands of New Zealand, including those of the Chatham Islands wound up the clock back by an hour on the 5th of April, 2009. The main islands of New Zealand switched from NZDT (New Zealand Daylight Time) to NZST (New Zealand Standard Time). This means the time in New Zealand was thirteen hours ahead of UTC (Coordinated Universal Time) which is usually depicted as UTC+13 during NZDT but will now be just twelve hours ahead or UTC+12.


On the same day, the Chatham Islands moved from UTC+13:45 to UTC+12:45. The time in Tokelau and the Cook Islands remained the same which is UTC-10. The same goes with Niue which is UTC-11 due to their non-observance of daylight saving time. Niue and the Cook Islands have a free association with New Zealand while Tokelau is a territory of New Zealand.

In 2007, the Minister of Internal Affairs of New Zealand, Rick Barker, announced the country’s extension of the daylight saving schedule. This decision was the direct result of a survey that showed that citizens preferred that the daylight saving time be extended.


Today, daylight saving time starts in New Zealand on September’s last Saturday every year and ends on April’s first Sunday the next year.

This means 2:00 a.m. will become 3:00 a.m. and when it ends, 3:00 a.m. will move back to 2:00 a.m. in New Zealand.
This year’s daylight saving time schedule started on the 27th of September, 2009, Sunday.

This schedule will end on the 4th of April 2010, Sunday.

2010 to 2011’s daylight saving time schedule will commence on the 26th of September, 2010, Sunday.

The Internal Affairs Department of New Zealand claims that New Zealand was one of the world’s first countries to adopt officially a standard time which is nationally observed.

New Zealand’s Mean Time was adopted in 1868 of November and it was set at eleven hours and thirty minutes ahead of GMT (Greenwich Mean Time).


Greenwich Mean Time was instituted in the 1840s by British Railways but was not adopted by Great Britain as its standard time until the 1880s.

Because of the Second World War’s emergency regulations in 1941, New Zealand clocks were moved up half an hour. The 1945 Standard Time Act made this advance permanent. This meant that the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) and Greenwich Mean Time in New Zealand was set at twelve hours in advance. This was denoted as GMT+12 (GMT plus 12 hours) and UTC+12 (UTC plus 12 hours).

Currently, New Zealand Standard Time is defined in the 1974 Time Act as twelve hours in advance of Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). Chatham Islands time was set forty five minutes ahead of New Zealand’s Standard Time.



Copyrights for all pictures on this site, it is and remains the property of www.new-zealand-nz.net

   2006 - 2012 www.new-zealand-nz.net