Welcome to New Zealand







  Copyright New Zealand


The North Island is one the two main islands of New Zealand, the other known as South Island. The capital city, Wellington, is also located on the North Island. The most population live on the North Island, over seventy percent of New Zealand’s population live there. The North Island is the fourteenth largest island in the world with 113,729 square km. The North Island is not as mountainous as the South Island. The Maori called the North Island Te Ika a Maui which means “The Fish of Maui”. The Maoris legend tells that both of the islands come from the Maui time. Maui in the maui mythology is a demigod and was well known for his trickery and exploits. The regions of the North Island are Wellington, Auckland, Taranaki, Northland, Bay of Plenty, Gisborne, Waikato, Manawatu-Wanganui, and Hawkes Bay.



Mount Taranaki North Island




Copyrights for all pictures on this site, it is and remains the property of www.new-zealand-nz.net

   2006 - 2012 www.new-zealand-nz.net